Victory Prima Pils

Prima Pils
Victory Brewing Co.

Serving
Poured from a brown 12 oz bottle into a pils glass.

Appearance
Solid golden color with pronounced haze. Poured with a half-finger of white foam, which quickly collapsed. Nice lacing on the glass.
Interesting note – looking at this beer in front of my laptop created an eerie fluorescent glow effect from the beer, almost like dropping a highlighter into a glass of water and then lighting it with a blacklight bulb. Weird.

Smell
Strong floral hops and lemon on the nose, with some faint light malts backing it up. Slight hint of caramel and lawn clippings.

Taste
Bitter, mild citrus up front and then a strong attack of bittering hops toward the back of the tongue. Not much in the way of malts in this one, save for a faint sweetness that rolls right to the back of the tongue as the other flavors announce their arrival.

Mouthfeel
Thin, prickly, and dry.

Drinkability
I’d say this one is middle of the road. It’s not a beer I could down quickly, and not one I’d call session. It’s also not a sipping beer or one I would want to leave sitting for any period of time.

Overall
I’ll admit, I’m not a pils guy. It was good, but not my choice of style to begin with. But, in the name of all that is just and good, I had to pick it up because I haven’t had it yet. Will I finish the 6-pack? You bet. Will I buy it again. Probably not. But that’s just me. Hell, I consider barleywines to be session ales. 😉

Leave a Reply

