Beamish Irish Stout

Beamish Irish Stout
4.1% ABV

Appearance
Poured from a nitro-can into an imperial pint glass. Pour was hazy from nitrogen infusion and left little head initially. Within 10-20 seconds of pouring the beer generated a nice full finger of creamy, milky light tan head. Beautiful nitrogen-fed cascade of carbonation to clear beer going on in the glass. Result was a pitch black beer with a picture-perfect finger-thick layer of light tan foam. Thick layer of very fine foam on the glass as you drink, more layering or plastering than lacing.

Smell
Very light on aroma overall, but some nice mellow maltiness coming through with dark roasted grains. Picking up some light tart to floral notes from hops. Very balanced yet subtle.

Taste
I’m getting a predominantly hardwood taste lined with dark roasted grain. Some good bittering going on in here, but the hops take a back-seat taste wise and let their presence be known in the bittering. Mild malty sweetness, but mostly dry hardwood.

Mouthfeel
Exceptionally smooth and velvety going down. Mouth is a little tacky after from the bitterness. Quite enjoyable!

Drinkability
At this stage in the review my glass is half-empty, so I’ll say highly drinkable and quenching. I’ve not had too many beers that go down this effortlessly. Everything about it rings of beer except the drinkability. I think I’d down this faster than a refreshing iced tea!

Overall
Well, I’m impressed. I love me a good stout, but this one is quite remarkable. Very well-balanced flavor-wise and aroma-wise. I’m looking forward to enjoying the other 3 of my 4-pack!

One Response to Beamish Irish Stout

  1. Bo Carlson says:

    I am glad to see you took my advice. Nice job. 😉I love Beamish.

Leave a Reply

