Rogue Yellow Snow IPA

Yellow Snow IPA

Appearance:
Pours a nice light golden yellow with a robust 2 fingers of spongy head. Fairly active visible carbonation whittles it down over time.

Smell:
Grapefruit zest, grapefruit zest, some mild floral hops in there and, oh yeah, grapefruit zest.

Taste:
Holy grapefruit, Batman! I know there’s something else in here, but the grapefruit zest flavor is so overpowering that it’s all I can pick up. Tried to cut the taste with crackers and cheese in between sips, but there’s no denying that this beer tastes more like a bitter grapefruit juice than an IPA.

Mouthfeel:
Nothing really notable here. It’s a bit dry on the finish.

Drinkability:
If grapefruit is your thing, then you’re golden. I found it a bit on the astringently bitter side due to that grapefruit zest flavor. I did finish the glass I poured, but I personally would classify this one as barely drinkable. Your tastes may vary.

Overall:
Not all that impressed, and not what I would expect in a Rogue ale. Though hops were present, this beer is overpoweringly grapefruit. I just couldn’t get past that very blatant smell and flavor, and with the dry finish I was left unimpressed.

3 Responses to Rogue Yellow Snow IPA

  1. So what do you do with a batch like that? Just chuck it?

  2. techcommdood says:

    Well, only one bottle was purchased. Simple action: don’t buy it again. 😉If it was my homebrew, and I had 2 cases of it, as long as it wasn’t infected or spoiled I’d choke it down over time.

  3. Dave says:

    If I had bought this one without any knowledge of it, I might (MIGHT) be tempted to buy it again to see if I had just gotten a bad bottle. After all, this is Rogue we’re talking about. But since the clerk told me as I was buying it that it was grapefruit flavor, I know it wasn’t spoiled, and that it’s supposed to taste like that.In that case, it’ll be my last Yellow Snow IPA.

Leave a Reply

