Monday’s Brew

On Monday I brewed an ESB, borrowing somewhat from Jeff’s recipe. I’m going for a lighter bodied and lighter colored bitter, more like Bluebird and less like Fuller’s, which is where Jeff seems to be leaning with his.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs Crystal malt 20°L
  • 1 oz Pearle hops (7.7% Alpha)
  • 1 oz Liberty hops (4.0% Alpha)
  • 6 lbs Munton’s Light dry malt extract (DME)
  • Wyeast #1098 (British Ale)

Process:

  1. Using a fine mesh bag, steep Crystal malt in water at 160°F for 20 minutes.
  2. Strain and remove Crystal.
  3. Bring to boiling.
  4. Before adding the DME, add 1 oz Pearle hops. The acids help reduce the chances of a boil-over, which can make a nasty, sticky mess.
  5. Add all 6 lbs of the DME, return to boil while stirring periodically.Start the boil countdown at 60 minutes.
  6. At 30 minutes remaining, add 0.5 oz of Liberty hops.
  7. At 2 minutes remaining, add 0.5 oz of Liberty hops.
  8. At 0 minutes remaining, remove from heat and remove hops.
  9. Cool to 70°F, aerate well, pitch yeast, aerate again.

Original gravity reading is 1.060 with a potential yield of 7.5% ABV should it get down to a 1.0 final gravity reading. More likely is 1.015, which would yield 5.6% ABV, which is respectable in a ESB.

3 Responses to Monday’s Brew

  1. darknova306 says:

    Well, I don’t think I was really ‘going for’ anything specific, but I do like a maltier bitter typically. My main thing with this recipe was to try some new hops varieties that I’ve never used in one of my favorite styles. So far I’d say my favorite hops for bitters would be Fuggles, but I want to try branching out a bit.

    Looking forward to seeing how your bitter turns out. I really like the 1098 British Ale yeast, by the way. Good stuff.

  2. techcommdood says:

    The hop selection you chose is what mainly interested me, since you did deviate from Fuggles. I had to go with Pearle though, so we’ll have to compare how these turned out. Yes, Wyeast 1098 is quite good. I’ve not had luck with White Labs as of late, so I’m back to Wyeast.

  3. darknova306 says:

    Ah, I missed the fact that you used Perle instead of Challenger for bittering. The hop change was because I want to expend my horizons a little bit, and because the only Fuggles in Rochester currently reside in freezer and those will be going in a batch to be determined later.

    The only time I used Perle was in a stout, and the roasted grains pretty much overpowered the hops in that one. I’ll curious to see how they shine through in your batch. I like how Perle sounds from the descriptions.

Leave a Reply

