A blog post after my own heart/liver

Top 10 Christmas Beers

To recap…

Delirium Noel – One of my all-time favorites. Epitome of Belgian holiday brews IMHO.

Scaldis Noel – Another fantastic holiday beer but with a slight burn to it. Go figure, it’s 12% ABV.

Great Lakes Christmas Ale – Haven’t tried this one. Must remedy that.

Gouden Carolus Noel – This one is good but just not in my choice top 10. It’s rather basic compared to the first two.

Penn St. Nickolaus Bock – Haven’t tried this one, but I haven’t bet a bock I haven’t liked.

Tröegs Mad Elf – This one is just nuts. It’s good, but a bit all over the place, flavor-wise. Not sure what kind of adjuncts they have going on in there, but it could have been simplified.

N’ice Chouffe – Great beer, great artwork on the bottle (as always). These happy little gnomes will help you escape the winter cold.

Mikkeller Santa’s Little Helper – Haven’t had this particular one. Had a different Santa’s Little Helper. Santa must really be leaning on quite a few helpers these days.

Custom Brewcrafter’s Christmas Ale – Haven’t had it.

Kerstmutske Christmas Nightcap – Haven’t had it.

I was surprised to see Corsendonk Christmas Ale wasn’t on the list. Bad Kegworks! Bad!!! Corsendonk Christmas is a staple here in upstate NY. I strongly suggest you try it from a hand-drawn cask.

I was glad to see the Bad Elf series didn’t make the list. While the artwork is amusing, that’s all they really have going for them. I found all of them to be unbalanced. I’d add Santa’s Butt to this list of “don’t bother” beers as well.

Finally, give George Gale’s Christmas Ale a shot. It’s not for everyone, but it’s quite good. Thick and almost brandy-like, it’ll warm you right up.

One Response to A blog post after my own heart/liver

  1. darknova306 says:

    That’s a good list, but it’s a travesty that Corsendonk wasn’t on there. Everytime I’ve been to Beers of the World the past couple months I’ve always picked up a 4-pack of it.

    I can get Custom Brewcrafter’s Christmas Ale fresh at the brewery out here. I should do that one of these days.

    Oh, it’s not really a Christmas beer, but the Ithaca Smoked Porter is a new favorite winter beer of mine.

Leave a Reply

