If you’re going to ask me about beer, then ask me about beer

I just received a new eRewards notification inviting me to participate in a survey about beer. Since I brew my own and have sampled quite a wide variety from around the world, I popped right over to the survey.

At first I was asked the usual questions… birthdate, sex, blah blah blah. Then how many beers I have in an average week, followed by a question to determine if you have a commercially-biased opinion (do you work for a brewery, distributor, etc.).

Then I got to a page asking me to select the beer I usually drink in a given month. Here’s the list:

Amstel Light
Blue Moon
Bud Light
Bud Select
Budweiser
Busch
Busch Light
Coors Light
Coors Original/Banquet
Corona
Corona Light
Guinness
Heineken
Heineken Light
Keystone Ice
Keystone Light
Keystone Premium
Killian’s
Michelob
Michelob Light
Michelob Ultra
Miller Genuine Draft/MGD
Miller High Life
Miller Lite
Milwaukee’s Best (Any)
Molson (Any)
Natural Ice
Natural Light
Old Milwaukee (Any)
Rock Green Light
Rolling Rock
Sam Adams Lite
Samuel Adams
Tecate
Zima
Any other beer (specify)

So, being the good little beer-swilling goober that I am, I select “Any other beer (specify)” and I specify “Warsteiner, Dogfish Head, Ommegang, homebrew“.

The next screen is a short but sweet “thanks but you’re not a fit for this survey”.

Gee, if you wanted to ask my opinion about thin malted corn and rice, why’d you ask me about beer?

(OK, ok, there are a few kind-of-decent choices in the list, but still nothing I’d drink regularly.)

Leave a Reply

